Skip to content Skip to footer

The Oscars 2021: Chloé Zhao makes history with Nomadland

Despite feeling like the longest awards season yet, the 93rd Academy Awards finally took place on Sunday 25 April with director Chloé Zhao making Oscar history with Nomadland. Zhao finally became the first Asian woman to scoop Best Director (and only the second woman to win the award), while Minari‘s Youn Yuh-jung is the first Korean actor to win an Oscar.

Brits also did well at the award, with Daniel Kaluuya scooping Best Supporting Actor Award for his turn as Black Panther leader Fred Hampton in Judas and the Black Messiah. British director Emerald Fennell also won Best Original Screenplay for the thrilling Promising Young Woman and Anthony Hopkins took Best Actor for his role in the moving drama The Father.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Picture

Nomadland – Winner

The Father

Judas And The Black Messiah



Promising Young Woman

Sound Of Metal

The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Best Director

Chloé Zhao – Nomadland – Winner

Thomas Vinterberg – Another Round

David Fincher – Mank

Lee Isaac Chung – Minari

Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman

Best Actress

Frances McDormand – Nomadland – Winner

Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Andra Day – The United States V. Billie Holiday

Vanessa Kirby – Pieces Of A Woman

Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Best Actor

Anthony Hopkins – The Father – Winner

Riz Ahmed – Sound Of Metal

Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Gary Oldman – Mank

Steven Yeun – Minari

Best Supporting Actress

Yuh-Jung Youn – Minari – Winner

Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Glenn Close – Hillbilly Elegy

Olivia Colman – The Father

Amanda Seyfried – Mank

Best Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya – Judas And The Black Messiah – Winner

Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Leslie Odom Jr. – One Night In Miami

Paul Raci – Sound Of Metal

Lakeith Stanfield – Judas And The Black Messiah

Best Adapted Screenplay

The Father – Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller – Winner

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm – Peter Baynham, Sacha Baron Cohen, Jena Friedman, Anthony Hines, Lee Kern, Dan Mazer, Nina Pedrad, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Swimer

Nomadland – Chloé Zhao

One Night In Miami – Kemp Powers

The White Tiger – Ramin Bahrani

Best Original Screenplay

Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell – Winner

Judas And The Black Messiah – Will Berson, Shaka King, Keith Lucas, Kenneth Lucas

Minari – Lee Isaac Chung

Sound Of Metal – Abraham Marder, Darius Marder, Derek Cianfrance

The Trial Of The Chicago 7 – Aaron Sorkin

Best Costume Design

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Winner





Best Original Score

Soul – Winner

Da 5 Bloods



News Of The World

Best Sound

Sound Of Metal – Winner



News Of The World


Best Animated Feature Film

Soul – Winner


Over The Moon

Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon


Best Cinematography

Mank – Winner

Judas And The Black Messiah

News Of The World


The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Best Documentary Feature

My Octopus Teacher – Winner


Crip Camp

The Mole Agent

Best Film Editing

Sound Of Metal – Winner

The Father


Promising Young Woman

The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Best International Feature Film

Another Round – Denmark – Winner

Better Days – Hong Kong

Collective – Romania

The Man Who Sold His Skin – Tunisia

Quo Vadis, Aida?- Bosnia and Herzegovina

Best Makeup And Hairstyling

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Winner


Hillbilly Elegy



Best Original Song

Fight For You – Judas And The Black Messiah – Winner

Hear My Voice – The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Húsavík – Eurovision Song Contest: The Story Of Fire Saga

Io Si – Seen – The Life Ahead

Speak Now – One Night In Miami

Best Production Design

Mank – Winner

The Father

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

News of the World


Best Visual Effects

Tenet Winner

Love And Monsters

The Midnight Sky


The One And Only Ivan

Best Live Action Short Film

Two Distant Strangers – Winner

Feeling Through

The Letter Room

The Present

White Eye

Best Documentary Short Subject

Colette – Winner

A Concerto Is A Conversation

Do Not Split

Hunger Ward

A Love Song for Latasha

Best Animated Short Film

If Anything Happens I Love You – Winner


Genius Loci