Skip to content Skip to footer

Meet the live-action cast of Netflix’s ‘Avatar: The Last Airbender’

Streaming giant Netflix has revealed the main cast lineup and creative team for the live-action adaptation of Nickelodeon’s beloved animation, Avatar: The Last Airbender.

Following the departure of original series creators Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko, Albert Kim (Sleepy Hollow, Nikita) has been announced as the showrunner, executive producer and writer. Also exec producing are Dan Lin (The Lego Movie, Aladdin) and Lindsey Liberatore (Walker) for Rideback and Michael Goi (Swamp Thing, American Horror Story), with Michael Goi, Roseanne Liang and Jabbar Raisani on board as directors.

Meanwhile, Gordon Cormier has been tapped to play lead Aang: “a fearless and fun-loving twelve-year-old who just happens to be the Avatar, master of all four elements and the keeper of balance and peace in the world. An airbending prodigy, Aang is a reluctant hero, struggling to deal with the burden of his duties while still holding on to his adventurous and playful nature.

Kiawentiio will play Katara; “a determined and hopeful waterbender, the last in her small village. Though only fourteen, she’s already endured great personal tragedy, which has held her back from rising to her true potential, though it’s never dimmed her warm and caring spirit.”

Ian Ousley will play Katara’s brother Sokka,Outwardly confident, even brash, he takes his responsibility as the leader of his tribe seriously, despite his inner doubts over his warrior skills… doubts that he masks with his wit and deadpan sense of humor.”

While Dallas Liu will play the complex Zuko, “a skilled firebender and the intense and guarded Crown Prince of the Fire Nation. Currently roaming the world in exile, he’s on an obsessive quest to capture the Avatar because he believes that is the only way to reclaim his life and live up to the demands of his cruel and controlling father, the Fire Lord.”

Gordon Cormier, Kiawentiio, Ian Ousley, and Dallas Liu join are also announced to be on board as series regulars.